5

I do a lot of the work on my Land Rovers myself, so I fully know what it takes to maintain these beasts. As expected by everyone there are times and jobs that just make sense to pay someone else to do. Dave and Tracy have been long term partners and they always do a professional job for me. The results of work conducted as always been exactly as agreed, I will always go back here

1/19/2016
5

I just picked up my 2008 RR Sport HSE from Dave and Tracy and the guys at Discovery. As I have come to expect over the last ten years of doing business at Disco, even after extensive repairs and performance upgrades my truck was delivered in perfect condition...and this was after having the entire transmission, exhaust system and rear differential removed and replaced! Dave personally drives every car after every repair...he hands over the keys confident the job has been performed correctly. I have restored, raced and owned European brands, and primarily British marques, since the mid-70's and now rely solely on Dave and Tracy's advice whether it is an oil change or outright engine replacement. Over the last decade Dave and Tracy have been the exclusive 'one-stop' solution for minor service to near-restoration on my cars which included Mercedes, Volkswagen, Audi, Jaguar, Land Rover/Range Rover, BMW...and even Alfa Romeo (yes, a perfect valve job and suspension upgrade on an Alfa Romeo Spider Quadrifoglio...) vehicles. Dave always make the service situation clear, and he isn't afraid to give the hard advice when he thinks the repairs may not be the right dollars-and-cents approach. But if my decision is to "Go ahead Dave...I like the car and want it to be right." (...this happens often with British cars you love!) the car enthusiasts within Dave, Tracy and their technicians take over and you would swear you just handed the keys over to an heirloom Ferrari. I've been a Disco customer since the 'Germantown Road' days when there was room for two Rovers end to end and little else (...the exact opposite of the new facility on Maynard Road!) and often think about why this husband-and-wife team have been so successful and the business has grown so dramatically. It was probably summed up best by a friend who I recommended take his own BMW's to Discovery; he said it was first the accurate diagnostics, then repair options clearly laid out regarding what must be done to repair the vehicle. Next, suggestions provided on what should be done in time, and the vehicle returned on time every time. And finally, NEVER needing to return because the job wasn't done right. I agree...my very frugal nephew had neglected his 2.0T Passat for several years. A foreign car shop in the Pinehurst area actually told him to 'give it up for dead' but Dave and his VW specialist (...Disco is careful to have technicians schooled in the makes they specialize in repairing) asked to take a look at it. A long story short, the Passat is alive and well for a fraction of what other shops had quoted, and even after the entire front end of the car as well as most of the engine ancillaries having to be removed, it has never been back to Disco once despite significant repair. Well, except for oil changes. Frankly, I couldn't justify owning the vehicles that I chose to drive were it not for Dave, Tracy and the Disco team. The key to Rovers and Jags is maintenance and upkeep performed by an honest and skilled team of technicians you can depend upon. I certainly recommend taking your vehicles to Dave and Tracy. See what it's like to work with automotive enthusiasts again, like it was in days gone past. And NEVER buy any of the makes on the used car market in which Disco specializes without Dave looking it over for you first!

Thanks for the positive review Vic!! We look forward to continuing to service all your cars in the future and are thrilled to keep your vehicles looking and running just how you like! Discovery Automotive
1/19/2016
5

We have a Volkswagen, and after two horrible experiences with the dealer we were desperate, thank goodness we found Discovery Automotive. They diagnosed out problems right away (bad glow plugs) and worked with our warranty company to get our AC compressor replaced. The dealer wanted a $90.00 diagnostic fee and flatly told us the AC would not be covered by the warranty! Dave told me not to be too hard on the dealer, he just has more up to date diagnostics. He doesn't even specialize in VW! I'll not be going back to the dealer. It is so refreshing to deal with a competent an honest mechanic.

1/11/2016
5

There is no where better in the area to get service done on your Land Rover or Range Rover. David is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. I have taken my two Land Rover Discovery Series II's to him and it has always been a wonderful experience. He knows we like to work on our cars and gives us options and tips on what we can do ourselves and whenever there is something we can't tackle they take care of it for a fair price and with quality work. He helped us find a lot of replacement parts for my current Disco and was much easier and cheaper than finding them all over craigslist, Ebay, and Amazon. I am taking my Disco to Florida from North Carolina this November and he worked with us to make sure everything was ready to go and in the best possible shape to make it there and back with no problems. These cars need to be taken care of properly to perform how they should and can last a long time, so don't take them to some budget mechanic that doesn't have the experience necessary to work on them sufficiently, take them to David at Discovery Automotive.

Thanks for writing us the review Zach. Glad we were able to help with your Discovery II before you hit the road. Hope you are enjoying the Florida weather!! Discovery Automotive
11/20/2015
5

Discovery Automotive is what you are looking for when it comes to Automotive repair, Fair and Honest. I recently took in a VW Passat, and a Jaguar XJ8 for an oil change. They went above and beyond to get them scheduled around my busy work schedule and they did an outstanding job! Dave, Tracey, and staff are very kind and got the work completed quickly. They are good at looking out for customers and understand how to fix problems the most cost effective way possible. We look forward to continuing to bring our cars to Discovery Automotive. Thank you Dave, Tracey and Staff!

Thanks for the kind words Jonathan! We are glad we could get both your cars in for service the same day!! Good job for keeping up with maintenance on your vehicles. We hope to see you soon for your next service! Discovery Automotive
11/20/2015
5

I found discovery after another foreign repair shop was totally trying to over charge me for a repair. What a great find. Tracey is very professional and always gets me scheduled very quickly. Dave provides honest and very reasonable quotes. They are also upfront about which repairs are urgent and which ones can wait. I will never take my Audi anywhere else. Thanks for the awesome and honest service!!!

So glad we could help in the servicing of your Audi. Thank you for the review Carress. We hope to assist you in keeping the Audi on the road for many years to come!! Discovery Automotive
9/10/2015
5

I've experienced nothing but professionalism, courtesy, and unsurpassed knowledge of all things Land Rover. We are fortunate to have a great independent Rover shop in the area.

9/10/2015
5

First of all, Dave and Tracy are two intelligent, friendly, honest, and very laid back people. Before my 87 year old mother passed recently, she told me I needed to meet them and consider using their automotive services. She absolutely loved them. Mom didn't trust many people, but she trusted Dave and Tracy. Since her passing I have had the pleasure of meeting them and doing business with them at Discovery Automotive. Tracy greets you with a big smile and makes you feel at home while she runs the office and the work Dave and his mechanic's have done on two of my vehicles has been incredible. I highly recommend Discovery Automotive to anyone that really cares about their vehicle.

Thank you for the kind words Chess about our level of work! We value you and all of your cars. We appreciate you putting your trust in us at Discovery Automotive. We look forward to working with you in the future. Discovery Automotive
8/15/2015
5

Discovery Automotive did a great job of not only repairing my vehicle but also saving me money. The job they did was $300 or so less than the quote I received from the dealership. They also did a routine check (that my dealership failed to do) of my air filters and replaced them as well. I will be returning to Discovery in the future for ALL my automotive repair needs. Thanks for the awesome service!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review Steven. We appreciate the comments and look forward to seeing you and your Mini Cooper for all of your service needs. Discovery Automotive
8/11/2015
5

Always a great experience. I have trusted Dave (and Tracey) for several years to service my Rovers and BMWs and will for future needs.

Thanks for the great review Stephen. We appreciate it! We look forward to servicing all your cars for many years to come!! Discovery Automotive
7/1/2015
If You Are Using A Screen Reader And Are Having Problems Using This Website, please call Discovery Automotive (919) 380-6535 For Assistance.